School holiday terms & dates

Here’s a list of South African school holidays terms and school term dates for 2010. We’ve got both private school terms and public school terms (state/government school) listed below.

Public/State Schools

The calendar for government school terms and holidays is the same for all provinces during 2010.

Term 1

Length: 53 days
Start: Wednesday, 13 January
Close: Friday, 26 March

Term 2

Length: 43 days
Start: Monday 12, April
Close: Wednesday, 9 June

Term 3

Length: 53 days
Start: Tuesday, 13 July
Close: Thursday, 23 September

Term 4

Length: 61 days
Start: Monday, 4 October
Close: Friday, 10 December

Independent (Private) Schools

The calendar for private school terms and holidays that follow a 4 term year is the same as the school term calender for state schools. The only difference being the mid-year holiday. This starts on 9 June, 2010 and ends on 13 July, 2010.

The calendar for private school terms and holidays that follow a 3 term year is listed below.

Term 1

Length: 51 days
Start: Wednesday, 13 January
Close: Friday, 26 March

Half term begins at 12h00 on Thursday, 25 February. Schools reopen on Tuesday, 2 March.

Term 2

Length: 42 days
Start: Monday, 12 April
Close: Wednesday, 9 June

Term 3a

Length: 28 days
Start: Tuesday, 13 July
Close: Friday, 20 August

Term 3b

Length: 61 days
Start: Monday, 6 September
Close: Friday, 3 December

Half term begins at normal closing time on Wednesday, 20 October. Schools reopen on Tuesday, 26 October.

  • TulongaUhengo

    wow, I wish my parents could afford a school like that…………..

  • Natasha

    Should you not worry about 2011 now, why don't you update your web site!!!!!!!!!!

  • Pierewiet2

    What a useless website – your calender is 2 years in arrear.  We want to see the dates for 2012 now !! 

  • Engxangx

    Seriously outdated. Hello anybody home!!!!!!!!!!!!